Friday , March 22 2019

UP CM likely to be named today after BJP MLAs’ meet

Preparations have begun in the state capital for Sunday’s swearing-in ceremony of BJP legislature party leader and UP CM at the Kanshiram Smriti Upvan

Uttar Pradesh CM

New Delhi: The much-awaited name of CM of UP might be announced today when the recently-elected BJP MLAs meet in Lucknow to elect the legislature party leader.

Senior leaders have stated they were not in the race for the legislature party leader post in the state, whose importance for the BJP for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections cannot be exaggerated. It can be anticipated that the top BJP leadership will keep a very close watch on the party and government in UP in the months leading up to the general elections.

Union minister of state Manoj Sinha took the expressive route on Friday to say he was not a contender: “Naa, mujhe kisi race kaa pata hai, naa main kisi race main hoon (Neither do I know about any race for CM, nor am I in any race).”

Other names being mentioned for the CM post are Lucknow mayor Dinesh Sharma, MLAs Suresh Khanna and Satish Mahana and state unit chief Keshav Maurya.

Dark horse force also appear as CM

Mr Keshav Maurya, an OBC leader, who had checked into the hospital a couple of days ago, stated, “Whatever is my responsibility as the party’s state unit president, I will fulfil that.” He was asked about party president Amit Shah’s remark that he had given Mr Keshav Maurya “the responsibility to select the UP CM.” After these remarks, gossip was rife that Mr Keshav Maurya’s name was out of the race for CM.

Earlier this week, Union minister Rajnath Singh responded “Ram Ram” when asked if he was headed to UP. “These discussions are pointless and unnecessary,” he had stated.

Some media reports stated that Mr Rajnath Singh’s security team had gone to Lucknow. The home minister, several leaders have stated, is a natural contender due to his profile and vast administrative experience. Gossip is rife that a “dark horse” might also emerge as the UP CM.

Preparations have begun in the state capital for Sunday’s swearing-in ceremony at the Kanshiram Smriti Upvan. The BJP had seized 325 seats along with its allies in the 403-member Assembly.

In a statement in Lucknow, UP Governor Ram Naik stated, the “new Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, along with his Cabinet associates, would take the oath on March 19 at 5 pm at Kanshiram Smriti Upvan”.

UP State BJP spokesperson Rakesh Tripathi stated the legislature party meeting would be held on Saturday at Lok Bhavan, the newly-constructed CM’s office which is next to the state BJP office.

The party’s central observers — Union minister M. Venkaiah Naidu and national general secretary Bhupendra Yadav – will be present at the meeting to elect the chief minister.

The swearing-in ceremony is likely to be attended by PM Narendra Modi, Mr Amit Shah and other top party leaders, stated official sources.

Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About admin

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...