Sunday , March 24 2019

Two AIADMK groups fight for party poll symbol of “twin leaf”

The Election Commission to decide which AIADMK faction gets the poll symbol, both the groups of AIADMK’s want to contest the April 12 R K Nagar assembly bypoll and fielded their respective contenders.

The Election Commission on Wednesday will decide which group of the AIADMK will get the party poll symbol of “twin leaf” for the R K Nagar constituency. The final date of filing nominations for the by-poll is March 23.

Election Commission to decide the party symbol

The Election Commission had earlier called both VK Sasikala and O Panneerselvam groups for a hearing to resolve the issue of party symbol. Both the groups have fielded their respective contenders for the April 12 by poll and are looking to contest under the AIADMK symbol.

The Panneerselvam camp had submitted a petition to the EC requesting an allotment of the ‘twin-leaf’ party symbol to it. A group from the Sasikala camp led by party leader and Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai had also submitted a memorandum to the Election Commission requesting “not to entertain” any claim to the AIADMK symbol from the Opposite group.

The Election Commission requires some supporting documents from the Panneerselvam group before March 20. The Sasikala camp was asked to file its response also by March 20, but it sought time till March 22, which was rejected.

Last week, the Panneerselvam group had announced E Madhusudhanan, a veteran leader, and AIADMK loyalist, as the contender for the by-poll in R K Nagar, which was represented by late chief minister J Jayalalithaa.

TTV Dinakaran, AIADMK Deputy General Secretary and nephew of Sasikala is the nominee from the other camp.

The Election commission has three choices: Have to allot the symbol to Panneerselvam camp or to the VK Sasikala or in worse case they have to freeze the symbol.

The allotment of the Symbol “twin Leaf” is significant for the R K Nagar by-elections which will be held on 12th April to the Tamil Nadu Assembly, which was represented by the late Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa.

Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About greeshma

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...