Sunday , March 24 2019

IPL 2017: Delhi Daredevils beat Pune Supergiant

Delhi Daredevils had won the toss and grabbed first strike but was quickly rocked by the first dismissals of Sanju Samson and Shreyas Iyer.


New Delhi: Delhi Daredevils’ bumped Rising Pune Supergiant’s play-offs motivations’, thrashing the visitors by 7 runs in their penultimate IPL game at the Kotla on Friday.

After confining the hosts to 168/8, Pune bungled the run chase, getting 161/7 in their chosen overs.

Read More: IPL Betting Racket Bust, 2 held from Team Hotel

Manoj Tiwary made a brave effort but came up short as Pune capitulated to their second loss in 9 matches, which prolonged their wait for a play-offs place.

They stood third on 16 points whereas Delhi rose to 12 points but remained sixth.

Pune had begun on the erroneous note, dropping Ajinkya Rahane off the first ball of their innings. Delhi captain Zaheer Khan had turned back the clock, unleashing a spiteful inswinger that went over the gate.

The responsibility fell on was on skipper Steve Smith to form a foundation for the chase. He and Rahul Tripathi had begun in right earnest till the Maharashtra batter feathered Khan’s slower off-cutter to the wicketkeeper.

Pune looked relaxed after the end of their Power plays at 53/2.

Shahbaz Nadeem had broken their rhythm when he entombed Smith plumb in front with a low delivery, which the Australian lost while trying to pull off.

Ben Stokes (33, 35b, 3×4, 2×6) had taken over the cloak of pushing the run rate laterally but frozen in the deep off Shami.

Pune wanted 38 off the last 3 overs, and when Mahendra Singh Dhoniwas run out in the 18th over, they were up contrary to it.

The home crew won the toss and took first foray but was quickly rocked by the initial dismissals of Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson.


Delhi Daredevils: S. Samson (run out) 2, K. Nair c Unadkat b Stokes 64, S. Iyer c Dhoni b Unadkat 3, R. Pant c Christian b Zampa 36, M. Samuels c Dhoni b Christian 27, C. Anderson st Dhoni b Washington Sundar 3, P. Cummins b Stokes 11, A Mishra (not out) 13, Mohammed Shami c Stokes b Unadkat 2, S Nadeem (not out) 0. Extras (lb 3, w 4) 7. Total (for 8 wickets in 20 overs) 168. FoW: 1-3, 2-9, 3-83, 4-117, 5-124, 6-140, 7-162, 8-166.

Bowling: Unadkat 4-0-29-2, Thakur 3-0-35-0, Washington Sundar 3-0-23-1, Stokes 4-0-31-2, Zampa 4-0-29-1, Christian 2-0-18-1.
Rising Pune Supergiant: A. Rahane b Khan 0, R. Tripathi c Pant b Khan 7, S. Smith lbw b Nadeem 38, M. Tiwary b Cummins 64, B. Stokes c Anderson b Mohammed Shami 33, M.S. Dhoni run out (Mohammed Shami) 5, lbw b Mohammed Shami 3, Washington Sundar not out 5. Extras (lb-1, w-5) 6. Total (for seven wickets in 20 overs) 161.

Fow: 1-0, 2-36, 3-74, 4-125, 5-135, 6-138, 7-161.
Bowling: Z. Khan 4-0-25-2, Mohammed Shami 4-0-37-2, Nadeem 3-0-21-1, A. Mishra 3-0-26-0, P. Cummins 4-0-35-1, M. Samuels 1-0-12-0, C. Anderson 1-0-4-0

Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About Nalini

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...