Tuesday , January 22 2019

Election Commission rejects AIADMK replies signed by Dinakaran

Election Commission rejected replies signed by AIADMK Dinakaran 


New Delhi: The Election Commission on Friday refused to accept a communication from the AIADMK signed by the party’s Deputy General Secretary T.T.V. Dinakaran regarding V.K. Sasikala’s appointment as party General Secretary.

In a letter given to Sasikala on Friday, the EC said the reply should be signed by an authorised officer or by Sasikala herself and sought response by March 10. The AIADMK has sent five letters so far to EC – all signed by Dinakaran – in response to the poll panel’s queries, but the EC said they did not meet the norm.

“Five different communications have been received from T.T.V. Dinakaran. In this regard, it is stated that Dinakaran is not a bearer officer of your party as per the Commission’s record. Communications from the party must be signed by an authorised office bearer.

“Hence, the reply should either be submitted under the own signature of you or you may appropriately authorise someone to do so on your behalf,” the EC told Sasikala. A delegation of AIADMK MPs led by Rajya Sabha member V. Maitreyan had on February 16 petitioned to EC over Sasikala’s appointment as the party’s General Secretary, which they said was not a legal.

The delegation comprising of 11 AIADMK parliamentarians told the EC in their petition that as per the constitution of the party, to be a party General Secretary, one has to be a member for five consecutive years, and Sasikala did not fulfil this foremost and basic criterion.

The petition also mentioned another Rule 20 (2) of the party by-law which says that the General Secretary should be elected by the primary members of the party units of Tamil Nadu and members of other states. By this, the EC had sent notice to Sasikala the next day, seeking her response by February 28.

Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About arunkumar.bairi

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...