Friday , March 22 2019

BMC 2017 Elections

BMC 2017 Municipal Elections Updates, the elections are taking place in 227 municipal wards

India’s richest municipal corporation Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), with 227 municipal wards, is going to polls today.  The polling started at 7.30 am and will close at 5.30 pm. The outcomes will be declared on February 23. Holding the status of the biggest municipal corporation in the country, BMC will witness competitive elections with 2,275 people in the fray for 227 seats. Along with the BMC, nine other community people will go to polls in  Maharashtra.

BMC Elections

However, it is called as the richest municipal corporation in the country having a budget of over Rs 30,000 Cr. Despite the riches, the public faces problems even for the basic commodity water. Promises have been made by parties for an uninterrupted supply (24/7) but which was not happened until now.

For the first time, BMC election is witnessing a tough competition between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena, the other parties that fighting along are Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS). BJP and Shiv Sena are at the forefront of the battle, while the other 3 parties are suffering converses.

Mumbai witnessed a voting of 16.40% till 11:30 AM in the morning and the highest voting turnover was in Borivlili at 9.91%.

Celebrities cast their votes

Bollywood actress Rekha casts her vote at a polling booth in Mumbai’s Bandra

Cricketer and Rajya Sabha MP Sachin Tendulkar reached the polling booth in Mumbai along with his wife.

Actor Varun Dhawan expressed his disappointment over not being able to cast his vote because he didn’t find his name on the voter list. He said it’s strange because he voted last year

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut also cast his vote at a polling booth in Bhandup East. Suniel Shetty took Twitter and pleased everyone to exercise their right.

Shiv Sena has the most number of seats in BMC and is lending upon the Marathi votes to increase its seat count in 2017 elections. The party was in alliance with BJP but is fighting alone this time.

Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About greeshma

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...