Wednesday , February 20 2019

Assembly election results 2017: BJP sweeps UP, U’khand; Cong leads in Punjab

Punjab, Aam Aadmi Party has grabbed in the bud; whereas, in Manipur and Goa, Congress has got a lead over BJP.


New Delhi: Maintaining exit poll predictions, BJP is competing in the direction of majority in UP – a command which reiterates Modi’s standing amid the masses and confirmation of his agenda, particularly demonetisation.


Votes counting have begun at 8 AM in Assembly polls in 5 states – Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Punjab, Uttarakhand, and Manipur.

The Samajwadi Party-Congress association and Bahujan Samaj Party are losing far behind.

In Punjab, the Congress is in lead, though incumbent SAD-BJP alliance that has governed the state for 2 terms is sprawling far behind. Astonishingly, Aam Aadmi Party is grabbed in the bud.

In Uttarakhand, BJP appears to have displaced the Congress, horsey on the anti-incumbency wave contrary to the grand old party. However, in Manipur and Goa, Congress has taken a prime over BJP party.

The Samajwadi Party mined its own grave previous year in the middle of a strong power struggle with party head Mulayam Singh Yadav and brother Shivpal on one side and son and chief minister Akhilesh Yadav and family friend Ramgopal on the other.

The two parties fired each other from party posts in a free-for-all earlier this year, even combating for the party symbol. This was before Akhilesh certain to tie up with the Congress to prevent a renascent BJP.

There have been gaudy grumblings from SP leaders that Congress applicants had contested contrary to the Samajwadi Party in certain voters paving the way for the BJP to take benefit of the voting divide.

Party frontrunners said the association might have helped the Congress but it indeed did not do anything for the SP.

A triumph in Uttar Pradesh will be a boost BJP president Amit Shah‘s power as taking power in Uttar Pradesh has been a reverie project for the party after it was reduced to the limits of the state politics that it lined for much of the year 1990s.

Amit Shah has been seen as the planner of the party’s outreach to numerous social groups, typically OBCs and segments of Dalits.

Uttar Pradesh

The most exciting contest is in Uttar Pradesh, which is realized as a game changer and a practical referendum on Narendra Modi’s admiration and his reforms program.

The Samajwadi Party-Congress association in UP is eager to stop the BJP juggernaut, which had previously tripped in Bihar and Delhi, and had led the way for opposition accord in the run up to the 2019 election.

In 2012, the Samajwadi Party removed to power beating incumbent chief minister Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party which had acquired an absolute preponderance in the prior elections.

SP had gained 224 seats of the 401 it challenged, gathering a vote share of 29.15 percent with an improvement of 3.72 per cent over the past elections.

The BSP acquired about 80 seats with a 25.91 percent vote share. The BJP achieved 47 seats with 15 percent vote share, though the Congress got 28 seats with 11.63 percent vote share.

In the 2014 general elections, though, the BJP captured Uttar Pradesh, captivating 71 of the 80 parliamentary seats. It acquired a vote share of 42.30 percent. The SP achieved only 5 seats with a vote share 22.2 percent, the Congress, and Apna Dal acquired 2 seats each whereas Mayawati was left high and dry.


Congress is demanding it will wrest control in Punjab. All exit polls have forecast a wipeout for the governing Akali Dal-BJP association and contest is grasped between the Congress and the Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party.

Votes were totaled at 54 centers in 27 locations set up for election to 117-member Punjab Assembly.

The Congress won 46 seats with a vote share of closely 40 percent, though Independents got 3.

The Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP pool came to power in Punjab in 2012 for the 2nd term, captivating 68 of the 117 seats. The entire vote share of the association was around 42 percent.

In the 2014 general elections, the Aam Aadmi Party gained 4, the SAD-BJP association 4 and Congress’ UPA 3 – down from 8 in 2009.

But tenure hangs thick on the SAD-BJP association this time in the face of a rising Congress and dark horse AAP.


In Goa, votes were calculated at two centers in North and South Goa to announce the winners in 40 seats.

In the year 2012, the BJP-Maharashtrawadi Gomantak had beaten incumbent Congress-led by CM Digambar Kamat, receiving 24 of Goa’s 40 seats. The BJP gained 21 seats. Amid the two, they slurped up a vote share of 41 percent.

In the year 2014, the BJP had picked up both Lok Sabha seats in Goa – captivating one away from the Congress.


A whole of 637 candidates counting 56 challenged for 70 seats in the Uttarakhand Assembly. 15 counting centers were there in Uttarakhand where the Assembly asset is 70.

In the year 2012, the BJP vexed to cash in on former chief minister BC Khanduri’s fresh image but caught only 31 of the 70 seats placing Congress in the driver’s seat. The Grand Old Party had appeared as the single main party with 32 seats and 33.79% vote share, but the BJP lost with a very small boundary and got 33.13% vote share.

The BSP could only gain in three seats of the 70 it opposed, with 12.19 vote share.

In the 2014 general elections, BJP had cast its spell on Uttarakhand and accomplished all five seats form the state with about 55.30% vote share.


In Manipur, totaling of votes was held for 60 seats. Congress’ Okram Ibobi Singh has governed in Manipur for 15 years. One of the main challenges for Congress this year was supposed to be Irom Sharmila’s People’s Resurgence Justice Alliance.

Congress began as the lone massive in 2012 Manipur Assembly polls and attained a hat-trick win by acquiring 42 of the 60 seats in the state. a It was sweet triumph for Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh as the party got 42.42 vote shares.

The All India Trinamool Congress came 2nd with 7 seats and 17% vote share. BJP could not make a dent in the state and did not gain a single seat.

In the 2014 general elections also, Congress ruled supreme and won both the seats in Manipur.


Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About Nalini

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...