Thursday , February 21 2019

Akshay Kumar Declared the Best Actor at 64th National Film Awards

The prestigious annual 64th National Film Awards were declared by the Directorate of Film Festivals on Friday, 7 April 2017 wherein Bollywood Actor Akshay Kumar declared Best Actor for the first time in his career.



On Friday morning , the gala event of the 64th National Film Awards was announced wherein Sonam Kapoor -starrer ‘Neerja’ was declared as the best Bollywood movie and  Akshay Kumar bagged the Best Actor award for his outstanding performance in ‘Rustom’. Neerja was directed by Ram Madhvani and was really a stupendous work and Rustom was both a box office success and critically acclaimed movie. Ajay Devgn -directed ‘Shivaay’ also received an award for Best VFX. Sonam Kapoor also got a Special Mention and appreciation for her act in ‘Neerja‘ to which Sonam says she feels ‘shocked and grateful’.

There were around 300 films which competed for the honour and as usual it the best that could make it. The process of selection began from the mid of March. The renowned Filmmaker Priyadarshan was the chairperson of the feature films category selection committee, whilst Raju Misra, the nationally admired cinematographer and writer was the chairperson in non-feature category.

Here is the list of 64th National Film Award winner:

Feature Films Awards


Best Actor – Akshay Kumar (Rustom)
Best Actress – Surabhi Lakshmi (Minnaminungu)
Best Director – Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)
Best Film on Social Issues – ‘Pink’
Best Supporting Actor – Manoj Joshi (Dashkriya)
Best Supporting Actress – Zaira Wasim (Dangal)
Best Debut Film of a Director – Deep Chaudari (Alifa)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – ‘Sathamanam Bhavathi’
Best Stunt Choreography – Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)
Best Children’s Film – ‘Dhanak’ (Hindi)
Best Child Artist – Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)
Best Male Playback Singer – Sundara Iyer (Joker)
Best Female Playback Singer – Iman Chakraborty (Praktan)
Best Screenplay (original) – Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaaram)
Best Screenplay (adapted) – Sanjay Krishnaji Patel (Dashakriya)
Best Editing – Rameshwar S. Bhagat (Ventilator)
Best Special Effect Award: ‘Shivaay’
Sound Designer – Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookkunna Neram)
Best Production Design – 24
Best Costume Designer – Sachin (Cycle)
Best Environmental film including agriculture – The Tiger Who Crossed The Line
Best Make-up Artist – MK Ramakrishna
Best Music Direction – Babu Padmanabha (Allama)

Special Mention

Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)
Mukthi Bhavan (Hindi)
Majirathi Keki (Assamese)
Neerja – Sonam Kapoor

Special Jury Award for Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage, and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol.

Best Feature Films in Regional Languages

Madipur (Tulu)
Joker (Tamil)
Wrong Side Raju (Gujarati)
Pelli Choopulu (Telugu)
Dashakriya (Marathi)
Bisarjan (Bengali)

Maheshinte Prathikaaram (Malayalam)

K Sera Sera (Konkani)

Reservation (Kannada)

Neerja (Hindi)

Facebook Comments
Rate this post

About Sirisha Rani

Check Also


Sapthagiri LLB Movie Review

Saptagiri LLB is a remake of director Subhash Kapoor’s Bollywood hit Jolly LLB. Sapthagiri, a ...